my fave: thanksgiving

Fave-ish?

It’s strange, now that sister lives in Alberta (while the rest of us are in Ontario) and Mom and Dad have moved to the lake, big holiday meals aren’t really a thing anymore.  I don’t miss mashing 10lbs of potatoes or somehow cooking for 10 hours and eating for 15 minutes. I don’t miss everyone reminding me I’m difficult because I don’t like peas.

I remember the fun trip to Costco with Dad and sis (and no, I can’t even tell you about it, cause we’re all going to hell for what we did). And the 3 of us making T’giving dinner in the midst of a heatwave while Mom was in Italy.

IMG_20131006_103023

None of us in Ontario are cooking this year; we found that the golf club has a holiday brunch (including 14 kinds of dessert), so, that’s where we’ll be on Sunday.

Still looking for something to go alongside the turkey? Here are some great, unique, sure-to-make-you-the-star-of-the-show recipes I’ve found (most of which I wouldn’t eat cause along with my hate for peas is a hate for pumpkin (I will eat 1 spoonful of pumpkin pie with A LOT of whipped cream) and squashes and sweet potatoes).

For the big day:

Apple Bacon Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

Double Bread Stuffing with Brown Butter, Bacon, and Sage

Roasted Autumn Panzanella Salad

Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Butternut Squash, and Cranberries (or you know, omit the squash and add bacon….um, yes!)

Pumpkin Risotto

Orange-Cranberry Sauce (made this last year and ate it with everything! delish on ice cream and toast)

Thinking about crashing on the couch and watching re-runs? Try these autumny-thanksgivingy (totes a word) meals: Autumn Apple Pizza or Butternut Squash Shells

Lots and lots (aka: 101) more recipes here; including a lot of dessert options.

Indulge me and someone make some steamed green beans with toasted, slivered almonds and some roasted parsnips, please?

For the day(s) after:

Day After Thanksgiving Hash

Turkey, Brie, and Cranberry Quesadillas (made these this week but with leftover chicken, YUM!)

Personal favourite is mashed potato pancakes (form cold mashed potatoes into burger-like rounds, pan fry in non-stick spray/oil till crispy on the outside), top with sour cream and cranberry sauce.

 

ps: YES, Jessica from How Sweet Eats is my go-to girl when I’m looking for a new recipe

Leave a comment