i like the way you work it

Sweatpants, messy ponytails, and endless cups of (free) coffee are a few of my favourite things. They’re also my favourite perks of working from home.

Sometimes I miss fresh air and having conversations with people who aren’t a barista or grocery store cashier. Sometimes I miss co-workers inflating my ego after a flawless event and sweet talking vendors into doing special favours for me. I do not miss trying to create the department’s monthly newsletter. I do miss office gossip.

office1

A few years ago, after the not-for-profit I was working for lost the funding that paid my salary I started working for my family’s business which guaranteed me the best office I could ever ask for: the one I created in a spare bedroom.

Did you know working from the couch actually does get old?

desk

Yes, this is what my office looks like. Yes, most of the time it is actually this clean. Yes, when I move I want at least one wall of my new office wallpapered in the same design as my laptop background (do you know how I can do that? have you seen similar wallpaper?)

My apartment is a bit cave-like and the cappuccino walls don’t help but they do reflect a good amount of light. Add white furniture and my office is actually quite bright. See that gorgeous grey/pink abstract canvas? It’s my favourite piece of art in my apartment. I made the vase and try to always have fresh flowers and cotton or coconut candles on my desk – a luxury you don’t get in a traditional space. I have dance parties in here. I write letters. Make crafts. Do volunteer work. Do work work.  And have more dance parties.

deskthings

A friend of mine just started a new job in a gorgeous, modern, yet completely void-of-personality office. You can’t even bring your own mug. Kate Spade makes such cute mugs! As does Anthropologie. As did Starbucks (don’t like their new city mugs but the old ones rocked). No art. No pouf. [insert crying cat emoji]

corkboardoffice5office6daytimer

‘Round here, no one objects to swear words and Simpsons quotes on the cork board. Or Suits (or The West Wing or Friday Night Lights) playing in the background. No one objects when Thursday morning hot yoga isn’t immediately followed by a shower. And no one objects to the Jersey Boys soundtrack on happy days, Macklemore when I’m frustrated, Alabama Shakes or The Lumineers or Zac Brown Band on chill sunny days, and oldies or slow jamz on sad days. This is not a quiet work environment.

It’s a good thing I’ve created a warm, perfect-for-me work space because when Toronto records the coldest month in history (this past February), one bundles up, hibernates, and refuses to leave except for a weekly trip to the grocery store, Starbucks, and aforementioned hot yoga. The first day above freezing…sometime in March…I put on only one sweater and trekked to Starbucks to work remotely for the day. (Is it still considered trekking when Starbucks is 500 metres away?) Lattes and people watching, is there anything better? But goodness gracious, I’m pretty sure Starbucks doesn’t want me sitting in the coveted seat beside the plug for seven hours; they recently renovated and got new rustic tables but they also brought in the most uncomfortable chairs. Which makes me wish there was a WeWork, a coworking company that provides shared offices spaces, close to me. Not only would it be nice to work outside my home sometimes but WeWork seems like one of those super-hip, ultra-modern spaces where cool people would congregate and network and get feedback about their newest social media app or community project. I’m desperately in need of being near cool people. Or kittens. I should probably just adopt a kitten.

There currently aren’t any WeWork offices in Canada, but scoping out their locations ignites my waderlust. One of the greatest parts of working for the famjam is that I can work from anywhere. A month in Georgia at Christmas? Can do. Analog in Calgary? See you in June. WeWork South Station in Boston? I WISH!

I bet there are also good looking, eligible bachelors in shared office spaces. There are no hot dudes inside my apartment. Cue the kittens.

office2

Now, if only I were one of those coolio bloggers who partners with Nespresso and I could have lattes at my disposal I’d be a very, very happy girl.

Looking to curate a beautiful home office? I highly recommend Charlotte, NC artist Kent Youngstrom’s Set Yo’ Space Workshop. I participated (at home, for free) last week and it was magical. So is Kent’s art.

What does your dream office look like?

5 thoughts on “i like the way you work it

  1. i spy with my little eye a picture of us with the revi bear!!!! i love that photo. we need to take more bear photos!

    all of your spaces are seriously beautiful, but i’m glad that you have decorated an office that is so welcoming, personal and creative. it’s gorg!

  2. Rifle paper co. makes some really beautiful floral wallpaper. You should check out what they have available!

  3. Your office is so pretty! I’d imagine something quite similar actually, with brightness and loads of color. My cube at work, while just a cube, has a window that overlooks lake Michigan and enough thumb tacked walls for me to decorate with pictures, maps, calendars and postcards.

    • That’s what I had in my old cube (view of the university bus loop, BUT at least i had a window); i jazzed it up a bit by covering the tack board in wrapping paper and one the softer walls in some fabric.

Leave a Reply

