grammatically speaking

I have a feeling you weren’t glued to twitter a few weeks ago keeping an eye on the National Lacrosse League trades ahead of the March 31 trade deadline. I was and my inner grammar girl was ignited with rage. I needed to get off the internet to stop judging athletes and their inept understanding of the English language but I needed to know where one of my faves was headed.

“I’m so happy to be apart of ________. Thanks fans your the best.”

NO. NO NO NO NO. You did not just say that.

Isn’t it crazy how a little space can make a word mean the opposite of what you intended. And homophones…sigh.

Coincidentally, Grammarly contacted me on March 31st to let me know about their schnazzy proofreading web app that finds and explains in-depth grammar, spelling, and punctuation mistakes online. The email was sweet and informative, but in my head, this is all I saw:

oxfordcomma

I know, Ryan; I know. I really appreciate that you noticed.

I don’t chat a whole bunch about my job other than I get to work from home (booyah), but 98% of it is conducted online. I have no meetings (hello sweatpants), minimal phone calls (thank goodness), and maximum trying to impress people via WORD documents and my wit via email correspondence. I compulsively read and re-read emails to new clients to ensure I haven’t spelled words wrong and I have portrayed myself intellectually. It’s a for-profit world and I’m trying to keep the lights on. Thank goodness for the compulsive re-reading which led me to catch “we’ll need to pick some up for our stalkings” one late December afternoon before sending it to a gum client. Stockings. STOCKINGS! We’d certainly need gum for our STOCKINGS.

I definitely didn’t know how big an impact strong writing skills translate into job performance, though. Have a look:

writing_skills_matter

HUGE impact. With the immediacy of our society – must get something on twitter, must break the news before any other outlet leaks it – proper spelling and good grammar have become less important.

Which is a darn shame because good grammar is mighty sexy.

You know when you become aware of something then it pops up everywhere? Like when a gentleman breaks up with you and then you spot the same kind of truck at every intersection? Or how you hear about Grammarly and then see it recommended in a BuzzFeed article about a week later. So cool.

I know I’m not the only grammar nerd out there. Are you one, too? My sweet new friends in San Francisco (GO GIANTS!) are offering one of y’all a premium account. With a premium account Grammarly can proofread your texts correcting more than 250 kinds of errors, improve word choice and context-optimized synonyms, help avoid plagiarism, and perfect your writing on business proposals, social media, and work/school documents.

Love it? Need it? Want a premium subscription? Just leave a comment before 11:59pm EST Thursday, April 23rd telling me how it could help you become a more confident and skilled writer. (Winner will be contacted directly via email on Friday, April 24th) 

 

[ps: they tweet tons of great puns; which is a winner in my book!]

One thought on “grammatically speaking

Leave a Reply

