cherry muffins

cherrymuffins

I have this feeling you’re thinking “ummmmm, do you just watch an obsense amount of TV, scour the internet for fun links, and bake things?” And the answer is yes. While in full hibernation mode (aka: November – March) my hobbies include baking things, making soup, binge watching TV series’, and sleeping for 9 hours a night. Pure grizzly bear on the inside. Rawr.

Supposedly spring starts Friday. I’ll believe it when I see it. Ontario is still hovering around freezing with the potential for flurries every few days. Damn you west coast. Like my Dad says every so often in our group BBM (we so cool), “God hates Southern Ontario”. Yah, well, jokes on him. He gets back to Canada the first week of April and it’ll still be cool. Sucker. Sis is laughing at both of us. Stupid beautiful rockies and their stupid warm winter and stupid spring-like spring.

So, muffins?

If you’re lucky enough to live in a spring-like Province or State, I hate you. No no. I mean make these to celebrate!  And since all my food likes to talk to you, these are saying “hey cool kids that live in desirable climates! I’m full of (frozen) fresh cherries and would make a great morning snack and even better treat on a picnic! I freeze well and am delicious when warmed for 20 seconds in the microwave and slathered in butter.” Not a cool kid that lives in a desirable climate? These just might make you believe spring IS around the corner.

cherrymuffins1

Cherry Muffins
(makes 10-12 muffins)

what you’ll need:
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup white sugar
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 cup milk
1/3 cup oil (I use canola, vegetable, or sunflower)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups frozen cherries (do not thaw)

how to:
Preheat oven to 375°F
Line muffin tin with liners and spray with non-stick spray
In medium bowl mix flour, baking soda, salt, and sugar
In large bowl, mix egg, milk, and oil.
Stir dry ingredients in wet, do not over mix. Fold in cherries.

Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Allow to cool about 10 minutes, transfer to wire rack and cool completely before storing in an air tight container (I kept 5 in a cookie tin for a week) or freeze in ziplock bags. Defrost one or two at a time on the counter overnight.

cherrymuffins2

One more note about these. Last summer, when cherries were $0.88/lb I stocked up, pitted and froze them thinking I’d use them for smoothies (I loooooove frozen cherries in smoothies). Then I went through a thing and I hated smoothies. Happy bags of fresh frozen cherries sat in my freezer till late February – freezer burn free – until they could reach their full potential in muffins. So, very very many months before cherry season, let me remind you to buy all the cherries your heart desires, pit them, and freeze them to use in muffin recipes all winter long. Or smoothies if that’s your thing. I can’t do smoothies when it’s -40 outside.

(I don’t own some fancy contraption to pit cherries so I just cut them in half, remove the pit, then lay them flat on a cookie sheet and put in the freezer. Once completely frozen I transfer to a ziplock bag attempting not to stain my white appliances with my purple stained fingers)

10 thoughts on “cherry muffins

  1. Those look and sound ridiculously delicious.

    PS. the envy you feel about Alberta spring is how I feel towards my friend in Victoria sending me pictures of the flowers blooming in February. Take a hike BC!

    • Oh, I have a few of those, too. I’m not too fond of anyone west of Thunder Bay at the moment. BUT, have a friend in Charlottetown and they’re had 475cm of snow in 3 months, sooooo, I guess things could be worse than -1.

  2. Muffins!

    Yesterday it was 75 here. Today it is 40 with 40 MPH winds. Luckily the wind was howling so loud that no one around me could hear the string of profanities I mumbled under my breath when i walked to work this morning. Stupid “spring.” Whatever. Give me a muffin.

  3. Pingback: friday, i’m in love | ...by allison

  4. Pingback: friday, i’m in love

Leave a Reply

