easy gifts: rosemary pecans

pecans

I think these are perfect for just about any occasion. Afternoon snack? Check! A creative way to say thank you? Check! A sweet (and salty) surprise tucked into a knapsack? Check! Happy housewarming? check!

See? Perfect.

I first came up for these for my dad and sister as a Christmas gift. While I didn’t invent sweet + salty + herb spiced nuts (I probably did); I do think this particular combination says “hello, I’m very sophisticated. Have a seat in my dimly lit den; let’s sip some bourbon and talk about politics!”

What? Your nuts don’t talk to you? Mine do! Look what else they’re saying:

pecans5

So, in the spirit of easy gifts – these couldn’t be easier.

6 cups nuts (I always use pecans cause they’re the best, but they can be expensive, use whatever you like)
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 tablespoons oil (I’d recommend a flavourless one like vegetable, canola, or sunflower)
2 tablespoons minced rosemary (lately I’ve just wanted a hint of rosemary and add a bunch of full sprigs instead of mincing)
salt

Pour everything but the salt into a bowl, mix mix mix.
Line a cookie sheet with tin foil and spray liberally with non-stick spray
Bake at 350°F for 10 minutes, stir, then another 5-10 minutes.
WATCH THEM! No one likes burnt nuts!
Sprinkle with salt as soon as they come out of the oven.
Cool on baking sheet and store in a ziplock bag.

Pack them up in a little snack bag and share the love.

pecans.insta

This “recipe” is easily adaptable. Don’t want 6 cups? I recently made it with about 2 cups pecans, a healthy squeeze of maple syrup, a splash of canola oil, and a few sprigs of rosemary. Same baking time.

[treat bags from Target]

4 thoughts on “easy gifts: rosemary pecans

  1. you give really swell gifts all the time, but i did love receiving these as part of my christmas gift. as did dad. know how i know? there were none left after a very short amount of time. looks like i’ll be going to bulk barn this weekend to get some pecans.

Leave a Reply

