the first time i cried in public

(this year)

SSIfog

I made it all the way till January 3rd.

Saturday afternoon was beautiful: Warm, very humid, and sunny. I packed a bag full of magazines, my ipod, a snack, grabbed an ice coffee on my way and settled into a rocking chair outside the library that overlooks a small park of live oaks, the pier, and the ocean. I had been dreaming of spending a day just like this since I got here.

With “A Girl Like You”, “True Love Ways”, “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes”, and “Come a Little Bit Closer” on loop I flipped open a magazine periodically looking up to watch a Dad and kid toss a football or to pat a puppy or peek at the wedding reception setting up behind me or to watch the fog roll in.

With sunglasses perched on top of my head instead of in front of my eyes my ipod died, the fog got thick, and the DJ tested to sound system. What a Wonderful World.

And I cried.

I cried because 2014 wasn’t the greatest year. I cried because Laura got on a plane 2 days before and I won’t see her for a few months. I cried because it’s such a great song.

And I cried because it was the most perfect, peaceful, beautiful moment.

 

ps: if you’re stepping up your dating game in 2015 Come a Little Bit Closer by Jay & the Americans has what sis deems the greatest pick up line ever: “Come a little bit closer, You’re my kind of man, So big and so strong. Come a little bit closer, I’m all alone, And the night is so long”. Try it out, let us know!

2 thoughts on “the first time i cried in public

  1. I LOVE THAT SONG! Every time I heard it on my Frankie Valli station I get immediately swept away to a little cafe just like in Guys and Dolls and immediately- dance party. Agree that 2014 wasn’t the best, so 2015 can only be better!

Leave a Reply

