potato green bean salad with lemon-basil vinaigrette

Summer rolls around and all I want to eat is grilled chicken or steak with summer salads. And then I mope around because I don’t have a BBQ. (not that I’d use it anyway, the whole open flame/gas thing freaks me out a bit)

Next best thing? A full arsenal of delish summer salads to go alongside baked fish or pan cooked chicken or leftover steak from The Keg (because it’s just not the same if not grilled).

Potato Green Bean Salad with Lemon-Basil Vinaigrette:

lemonbasil

what you need:
1.5 pounds mini yukon gold potatoes; cleaned and cut into quarters
a bunch of fresh green beans (oops, I don’t know how much I bought, about 3 big handfuls); washed, trimmed, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 lemon
30 grams fresh basil; cut into ribbons
2 tablespoons oil (I use canola/vegetable/sunflower)
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper to taste

how to:
add raw potatoes to pot of cold water, bring to boil, boil till almost fork tender
add beans to almost done potatoes, boil together for 2 minutes
drain

for vinaigrette: whisk together juice from one large lemon, oil, vinegar, salt/pepper, basil

pour vinaigrette over warm potatoes and beans

serve warm or cold — I think it’s better cold. (though I had it warm with chicken, cherry tomatoes, and shredded extra old cheddar for dinner last night, and it was amazing)

potatobeansalad3

Um, I think these are all my favourite foods.

3 thoughts on “potato green bean salad with lemon-basil vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

