q+a (and breaking the rules)

As I hinted on Friday, the lovely ladies from the Holoholo Girls and fellow I’m Fit Possible Ambassador Mary nominated this little slice of heaven for Liebster Awards. Mahalo and thank you ladies, how incredibly sweet of you to show some love to me and this little blog.

I’m a bit of a rule breaker, so, instead of answering all 20 questions posed by Mary, Carolina, Kainoa, and Rogene I’ve meshed some together (a few were very similar) and picked a few from each. So, here ya go:

2014-04-20 10.52.50-1

In honor of spring, what is your favorite outside activity?

I love walking on the beach by my parent’s home in Long Point, Ontario, reading on a Starbucks patio, getting ice cream by the river, or hiking some local trails.

I (Mary) love to grill.  Do you prefer to host a cookout or be invited to them?

Mary, will you come grill for me? I can’t have a grill at my apartment, but I love it so much. Every time I go up to the lake house I demand (yes, demand, I’m so lovely to be around) that my Dad BBQs for me. Can I host the cookout while someone else grills the food? I have control issues and don’t like what other people make.

How many places have you lived?/If you lived anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

Too many different University/post-University homes but nowhere cool. I’d love to just up and move one day, somewhere that doesn’t snow would be nice. Will someone in the warm States adopt me? Preferably someone with deep pockets. I like living on my own, so, ideally, I’m looking for a nice guesthouse in a warm US state. Or Eurpoe. I’m not that picky. I’m in love with our vacations on St. Simons Island, GA – quiet, small Island, nicest people, lovely beach, best BBQ ever – so I’d want to live there for a bit if I could.

What would be your dream vacation?

Right now, I’d love to go back to Europe. My Mom, sister, and I went on a 3 week tour in 1999 and it was amazing! Since my dream vacation has an unlimited budget I’d like to visit tons of European cities, stay in luxurious hotels, eat a lot of pastries, drink a lot of coffee, and take pictures of every gorgeous building, church, alleyway, park, ferris wheel, mountain, and café along the way.

Why did you start blogging?/What inspired you to create your blog?

I can’t remember exactly what motivated me (probably peer pressure from my sister), but the first incarnation of the blog was “allison’s favourite things” to share what I loved the most because I was so sick of the negativity in my work place, the negativity of the news/society in general. There’s just not a lot of greatness out there. It has since evolved into writing whatever I want, but my favourite is still “friday, I’m in love” where I share the best of everything in my life that week. It reminds me to appreciate the little things.

What is your favorite quote and by whom?

is it just me or are you fucking crazy? – Macklemore’s Thin Line. (no wait, that’s not a good example but oh so true and most definitely up on my cork board)

love lust faith dreams. – this is the most recent 30 seconds to mars tour name (seems so simple and just unspecific enough)

don’t be like the rest of them, darling – Grace Kelly (reminds me to be authentic; I can be shy, stubborn, extremely caring, helpful, and a huge jerk, but it’s all me)

do small things with great love – Mother Teresa (doing small, purposeful things that I know will make other people happy is very important to me; I’m not a grand gesture kind of girl)

What comprised the most delicious meal you’ve ever eaten?

I’m a simple kid, I don’t really like anything fancy and don’t like a lot of things. I’ve never been out for a “fancy meal”; in my world fancy meal = steakhouse. Which, OMG, yum!

My all time favourite ever is my Mimi’s tocco – a northern Italian meat sauce traditionally served over polenta that is extremely simple (I re-create it all winter long). In our family, it’s a meal you make at birthdays or Christmas or when you want to make something special for your loved ones.

And of course I dream about the szechwan green beans and braised beef sandwich from Cactus Club and the pulled pork sandwich with side green beans from Southern Soul BBQ (yes, I really love green beans and a good sammie; simple girl)

A sentence or two describing a happy memory?

Vacations with my sister – all of them rolled into a highlight reel are my most favourite memories.

 

While I’m mighty opinionated I’m not good at singling people out. Wanna play along? We can all get to know each other better, feel free to comment and answer any of these questions. 

I’ll even throw one more out there for you: what is something others think is strange about you? I don’t like Oreo’s or peanut butter (except in Reese PB Cups) and I have a thing for lefties and gingers. I think it’s all normal, my friends think I’m crazy. 

4 thoughts on “q+a (and breaking the rules)

  1. I love your answers! Very funny! I would totally grill for you! When my mother-in-law hosts her parties, I usually end up taking over the grill for her. Even on Easter I ended up grilling asparagus- LOL your dream vaca and mine are pretty much the same. I would love to tour Europe checking out all the castles and cathedrals.

    • Lucky girl (and husband)! We were in Italy, everything is magnificent; leave your diet in the US cause you can’t not eat all the food. Haven’t been to Spain, but friends have and they love it. I mean, what’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

