my fave: lemon rosemary chicken

So, as you know Monday was Mimi’s birthday.  Other than the two meat sauces she makes, her lemon rosemary baked chicken is my favourite thing to come out of her kitchen. In her honour, I decided to make it Monday night. It was good (obvs, that’s why I’m sharing my recipe), but it wasn’t as good as hers. Which, no wonder, cause Mimi’s recipe is “some oil, and lemon, dry rosemary, a little salt, and bake it all till golden brown”. The woman is a genius in the kitchen, she doesn’t need recipes.

So, chicken?

chickenmarinade

Lemon Rosemary Chicken Drumsticks
(I’m sure you could use anything, I tried something new to me)

Marinade
In a ziplock bag, combine:

  • peels of 2 lemons
  • juice of those 2 lemons
  • 1/4 oil (I use sunflower, use whatever you like)
  • a pinch of salt (put in black pepper too if you like it, I can’t stand it)
  • 4 sprigs of rosemary (rough chop, or whole, doesn’t really matter)

Refrigerate 4 hours – overnight

Cook
Empty all contents of the bag into a shallow baking dish and cook uncovered at 450 degrees for 50-60 minutes, until the chicken is nice and crispy. Not getting browned enough? At the end of cooking, leave them under a low broiler for a few minutes.

chicken

Like I said, I enjoyed it on Monday, but actually thought it was better on Tuesday for lunch. I broiled the leftovers on low for about 7-10 minutes (keep an eye on it).

I’m headed over to Mimi’s for lunch today; I’ve got my fingers crossed for some pasta.

2 thoughts on “my fave: lemon rosemary chicken

  1. Pingback: friday, i’m in love | ...by allison

  2. Pingback: friday, i’m in love | ...by allison

Leave a Reply

