my fave: iced coffee

So remember that one time you were checking the weather forecast and you nearly dropped your phone cause you saw the number 42 (that’s celcius, baby) and the word September in the same screen shot? No? Just me? efffff. Why might it get up to 42 degrees (with humidex) tomorrow? whhhhhy? I bought a super cute sweater today (cranberry, cuffed sleeves, gah. so cute) and I want to wear it. (but also, I guess woo that’s it’s still summer!)

So, 9 days into September I’m making a pitcher of iced coffee to get me through the next few days.

iced-coffee

In the peak of summer I’ll typically make a big batch of cold brew iced coffee and a tray of black coffee ice cubes (that’s the secret to not watering down your coffee) on a Sunday afternoon so it’s ready for the week ahead. Need a batch to get you through this late summer heat wave? Here’s my go-to “recipe”.

Cold Brew coffee
1/3 cup of your favourite ground coffee
1.5 cups cold water
these are the basic measurements, from here, you can duplicate that as many times as you like/will fit in your container

Stir and let the mixture sit on your kitchen counter overnight. In the morning, strain grinds out through cheesecloth/paper towles/drip coffee filter, and refrigerate. Voila! A pitcher a iced coffee ready for the week. (I take mine with 1 splenda or a spoon of sugar, a splash of cream and a lot of milk, if you were wondering…also, if you shake the milk in say, a martini shaker before pouring it in, even better)

Love Starbucks iced coffee? they actually sell bags of their iced coffee grinds in stores (or is it online? I’ve seen it). Alternatively, I buy the True North blend at Winners (a few dollars less than grocery stores) and will cold brew half a bag at a time.

ps: Starbucks? Look, I love you. Really do. Love love love. But….you know when is too early for a pumpkin spice latte? August. 

pps: ugh. pumpkin. *shudders* 

4 thoughts on “my fave: iced coffee

  1. Pingback: Afternoon Coffee Break: Welcome to a new friend: Mya Marie | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

  2. Pingback: friday, i’m in love | ...by allison

  3. Pingback: friday, i’m in love

Leave a Reply

