my fave: peaches and cream cookies

SAM_0891

Let me tell you a story about these cookies. It all started earlier this month. No, actually, I suspect the story really started in October 2011. Sister and I were strolling around the Chinook Centre after I bought my ipad back on my first trip to Calgary. Rounding the corner, giddy as can be, I peaked into the display case of “Cookies by George” (like Mrs. Fields). Peaches and Cream cookies!? Cappuccino cookies?! I was flying home the next day, and everyone needs a plane snack, right? Done and done.

So, Market Mall, earlier this month. Walk by Cookies by George. No Peaches and Cream cookie. (sad panda). Fast forward to Tuesday night; my Mom brought me a basket of farm stand peaches. 9 peaches for just one person? Aha, I thought. I’ll make that peach-custard tart I saw on a blog earlier this week. Searching…searching…maybe it was a different blog…more searching. Can.not.find.anywhere!

And then, a true lightblub moment. I’ll make peaches and cream cookies.

SAM_0892

Peaches and Cream Cookies
(recipe adapted from Sprinkled With Flour)

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour*
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup softened butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 small-medium peaches, diced
1 cup white chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon
In a large bowl beat together butter and sugars, add egg and vanilla. Beat until smooth
Slowly beat or stir dry ingredients into wet
Once combined, stir in diced peaches and white chocolate chips

If it’s a hot day, place dough in the fridge for 15-30 minutes
Roll chilled dough into balls (golf ball size maximum) and place on cookie sheet, allowing for space to expand

Bake for 10-12 minutes (11 minutes is my cookie sweet spot). Cookies will look under-cookied (…just how I like ’em} but will set perfectly for slightly crisp outside, golden brown bottom, and soft/chewy centers.

SAM_0894

Does it get any better you think rhetorically. And yes, friends it actually does. Roll the dough balls in cinnamon-sugar before baking. Yum!

 

*for the love of all things delicious, please don’t use whole wheat flour. Stop trying to make cookies healthy. Just eat the peach if you’re concerned with the calories.

3 thoughts on “my fave: peaches and cream cookies

  1. Pingback: awesome moment of the week | ...by allison

  2. Pingback: my fave: chocolate chip cookies | ...by allison

Leave a Reply

