my fave: following your heart

Greetings from the sunny south!!! Wow, sometimes you just don’t realize how much constant sunshine can make you a better person until you get the heck out of (cloudy, dreary) Ontario and into perpetually sunny Southern Georgia.  It was cool (for here) the first 3 days, but high teens, low 20s (celcius) for the next week. Yes, please! 

Pretty much everything is my favourite down here, so, instead of making you insanely jealous, I thought I’d jump on my soapbox for a bit, indulge me, won’t you?

–  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –

A year ago I had quit my old job, the one I grew up in, the one I grew comfortable in.  I was wicked-awesome at it but I wasn’t being challenged and there was no possibility of growth.  

The next job, while a great fit, with great people, ended with the end of my contract.  I wanted to stay, they wanted me there, but, with no funding for my position, I packed up my polka-dot file folders and heart shaped sticky notes. 

What to do now?

I’m lucky that my parents own their own transit advertising business and, as they’re getting a bit older, have been looking for extra help.  So, I’ve been working for my Dad since September.  I intended for it only to be a temporary thing, something to keep me busy (and the bills paid) until I re-started a contract or until something better came along. The thing is, I actually really like being involved with the family business.  There is an enormous sense of pride having your Dad boast about you to clients.  

In the new year I also started volunteering with the Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, and I’m writing for ILIndoor.com.  

I’ve started to reignite passion in my life. 

I’ve started to feel ok with me.  My first job beat me up so badly (metaphorically, it wasn’t fight club or anything) that it’s taken over a year to feel confident again. 

For once, I’m trying to figure out what makes me happy.  I’m having more fun, saying yes to drinking on school (work) nights, spending lazy weekends in bed, and getting ridiculous burns in 15C weather (always say yes to SPF45, friends).  I’m following my heart. 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I’m soaking up the sun (slathered in sunscreen, I learned my lesson) for another week.  I’d love if you shared some of your favourite things on the blog.  Sound like fun? Email me, tweet me, send smoke signals. 

You can follow more of my vacation fun on twitter and instagram

Leave a Reply

