my fave: hand me downs

My grandpa recently moved into a retirement home.  For the past 2 Sundays I’ve been over at the apartment looking through old photo albums and helping to clean it out. 

We all left with a couple things, but I scored the real prize:

That’s a Silvertone hi-fi folks; AM and short wave radio only. While I’m not completely interested in having it restored, I think it’s quite a beautiful, vintage piece of furniture that will live a happy existence in mine and then sister’s future apartment. 

I heard the stories of how my aunt listened to coverage of JKF’s assassination on this radio to the countless nights my dad sat listening to Leafs games.  A little (big) piece of my family’s history is nestled in my living room. 

Leave a Reply

