my (christmas) fave: cookies for santa

It’s not feeling too Christmasy around these parts.  Today might be the last warm day before I leave for vacation, but I’m not complaining about 6 degrees and sunny!  

No snow, no presents to buy.  Even though I’ve been watching Christmas movies and Christmas specials, listening to Christmas music for weeks, have my bitty tree up and decorated, and lit every frosted cranberry candle I own, I haven’t muttered the words “it’s starting to look a lot like Christmas”. 

image

That doesn’t mean I didn’t bake Santa some cookies.  Some delicious, chewy, chocolate mint cacookies. 

Super simple.  At Christmas, who needs complicated?

  • 1 box Chocolate or Devil’s Food cake mix
  • 1/4 cup canola/vegetable/sunflower oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 100g mint chocolate bar (I used Cadbury Dairy Milk mint) cut up into little pieces
  • mix everything in one bowl (no need for the dry into wet nonsense), refrigerate the dough for about 30 minutes
  • roll dough into just smaller than golf ball size balls and place on baking sheet – do not flatten.  (you can also roll balls through powered sugar, I didn’t cause I’m keeping this super simple…aka: lazy)
  • bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes (11 is my go-to cookie time)

image

The thing is Santa, don’t get mad, I ate them. I shared some, not many (cause I work from home and my friends live an hour+ away), but some.  That counts for a generous spirit, right?

ps: Santa? They were really tasty, I’m sure you would have enjoyed them. 

pps: cacookie = cake-mix cookie

3 thoughts on “my (christmas) fave: cookies for santa

  1. Pingback: my christmas faves | ...by allison

  2. Pingback: holiday baking roundup | scribbles & sass

Leave a Reply

