my fave: peach sangria

While I was home helping Dad disassemble, pack, and move a week and a bit ago we survived off pre-packed salads, cereal, and going out for dinner.  

I really love going out for dinner, but was really craving fruit and veggies by the time I got back to Guelph.  Although I had close to no food in the fridge (a trait I’ve learned from Dad…when he says “all we have is 3 kinds of mustard”, he’s not kidding)

When Dad says "all we have is 3 kinds of mustard" he isn't lying. (cc: @LaurBridge)

I bought watermelon, mangoes, peaches, strawberries, grapes, cucumbers, tomatoes, bocconcini, blue cheese, an avocado, yougart, and milk.  It may not be completely well rounded, but it sure has been delicious.  

I’m not really a fan of drinking by myself; if I were, I would have made sangria for 1 with the peaches instead of devouring them for snacks each afternoon.

After looking at tons of recipes and throwing together a bunch of ingredients, this is my personal recipe for peach sangria:

  • 1 bottle of your favourite white wine (I know people say use the cheapest wine you can find, but I really think you should start with something you like…my fave wine is $11.95, I’m cheap classy like that)
  • 1 cup peach schnapps (or peach vodka or coconut rum)
  • 1 cup peach juice (mango juice or white grape juice would also be good)
  • 2 diced/sliced peaches (and any other fruit you think would be yummy, adding frozen fruit at time of serving acts as a great replacement for ice)
  • gingerale/sparkling water/club soda/sparkling lemonade

Mix wine, peach schnapps (or vodka/rum), juice, and fresh fruit, allow to sit in the fridge a few hours.  When ready to serve, fill glasses 1/2 – 2/3 with sangria mix, top off with gingerale/sparkling water/club soda/sparkling lemonade and frozen fruit.  

After a few glasses, you may be tempted to pour your sangria over gummy bears.  Take my word for it, don’t.  Just eat the sangria soaked fruit. Trust me. 

(sangria photo)

Leave a Reply

