my fave: girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes

I was 6 weeks shy of my second birthday when my sister was born.  For months, everyone had guessed little Laura was going to be little Andrew.  My Mom was elated when it was a girl.  

“You didn’t really care if it was a boy or a girl, right?” the nurse whispered to my Mom after the delivery.  ”Oh no, I just wanted a girl. I did not want a baby boy” deadpanned my Mom. 

                           

Not us, but it might as well be.  We grew up in matching dresses and satin ribbons in our long, curly hair.  

I should probably stop asking Santa for a baby brother though, I really don’t think it’s gonna happen. 

(photo from google images)

Leave a Reply

